Help with Japanese characters in file names in Windows.
Thread poster: Serena Marangoni
Serena Marangoni
Serena Marangoni  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 22:37
English to Italian
+ ...
Dec 15, 2016

Hi all!
I'm an Italian translator, translating in EN>IT. I don't speak Japanese, but I'm working on some English documents that have been created by a Japanese company. These are graphic files (illustrator) that have links to the images embedded inside. When I open the documents I have to re-link the images because the program doesn't find them automatically. Unfortunately for me, the file names are in Japanese. Illustrator recognizes the characters and shows them correctly (for example �
... See more
Hi all!
I'm an Italian translator, translating in EN>IT. I don't speak Japanese, but I'm working on some English documents that have been created by a Japanese company. These are graphic files (illustrator) that have links to the images embedded inside. When I open the documents I have to re-link the images because the program doesn't find them automatically. Unfortunately for me, the file names are in Japanese. Illustrator recognizes the characters and shows them correctly (for example 会社案), windows on the other hand transforms the characters into names like âTâCâ}âïâ`âF.

Does anyone know how I can force windows to show the correct characters? I can't read them but I could copy the names...
Collapse

Dan Lucas
Dan Lucas  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:37
Member (2014)
Japanese to English
Tricky Dec 15, 2016

Serena Marangoni wrote: