Mathilda Haraldsson
Mathilda Haraldsson
Sweden
Local time: 15:58
French to Swedish
+ ...
Jun 26, 2017

Hello everyone,
I am quite new at this, started freelancing some months ago (based in Sweden).

I did some tests for an agency (a legit one) and they want to hire me. After finishing all of these tests and filling in a lot of papers, they sent me this:

"Default method of payment is by check. However, payment by PayPal or wire transfer can be requested via the Web Support System.
There is a $10 fee for payments received via PayPal and a $20 fee for pay
... See more
Hello everyone,
I am quite new at this, started freelancing some months ago (based in Sweden).

I did some tests for an agency (a legit one) and they want to hire me. After finishing all of these tests and filling in a lot of papers, they sent me this:

"Default method of payment is by check. However, payment by PayPal or wire transfer can be requested via the Web Support System.
There is a $10 fee for payments received via PayPal and a $20 fee for payments received via wire transfer.
Please note that in the United States, CHECK is the only payment method.

To avoid unnecessary fees we offer the option of applying a minimum payment threshold. This means that we can release payment once you have earned a predetermined amount (e.g. $1,000) rather than for every job completed."

I think this is insane. How can they expect that I will agree to get 20 dollars less on my job just because I want a bank transfer?
Is there some way to get past this? I was thinking, is it legit to put on my invoice an "invoice fee" of 20 dollars?

Thank you so much in advance for help.

/Mathilda
Collapse

Thomas T. Frost
Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 14:58
Danish to English
+ ...
Transferwise Jun 26, 2017

They could use Transferwise. The fee is about 1%, and they can specify the exact amount you receive in your currency. In the US, they can pay a Transferwise transaction by direct debit at no cost.