Online translation certifications. The cheaper and better for experienced translators.
Thread poster: Aida Carrazco
Aida Carrazco
Aida Carrazco  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 13:06
Member (2018)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 17, 2018

Hi,

I'm looking for an online certification to get translation credentials.

I've been working as a translator for more than 10 years, but my studies are related to Business and Finance, and I want to be certified.

What do you recommend?

Thanks!!!
Aida

Dylan J Hartmann
Dylan J Hartmann  Identity Verified
Australia
Member (2014)
Thai to English
+ ...

Good luck Jul 17, 2018

Getting certified was difficult and expensive for me.

I had to sit a gruelling 3hr supervised paper & pencil exam in the NAATI office.

A good question might be whether online 'certifications' are legitimate or even recognised?

I'd be interested in hearing about this.

Regards,
DJH

angela vaporaki
angela vaporaki
Canada
English to Greek
+ ...
certification Jul 17, 2018

i am in the process of getting certified at the moment. i can only tell about Canada though. Here you have to become certified through ATIA. you take written exams on the language you want to be a translator in, you take exams on code of ethics and after passing these you need to provide either a degree as a translator and also a specific number of words you have already translated or (this is the path i'm taking) prove a much higher number of words translated in the case you have no degree.

Judith Langford
Judith Langford  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 13:06
Member (2017)
French to English
+ ...
Depends on your country Jul 17, 2018

The first thing you should do is check the requirements for becoming a certified translator in your country. As you are in Mexico, I believe the American Translators Association is the accepted credential.