Thread poster: angela vaporaki
angela vaporaki
angela vaporaki
Canada
English to Greek
+ ...
Jul 16, 2018

Hello everyone,
My name's Angela and i am trying to start my first translation from Greek to English.
I have never done an official translation before as a professional. I have done handwritten ones and so i am struggling to understand where to start from.
i have downloaded the omegaT and tried to import my file to translate and all i get is boxes(instead of letters)and numbers. i tried to do some research but now i'm in an even worse state than before. Please help me start!!!<
... See more
Hello everyone,
My name's Angela and i am trying to start my first translation from Greek to English.
I have never done an official translation before as a professional. I have done handwritten ones and so i am struggling to understand where to start from.
i have downloaded the omegaT and tried to import my file to translate and all i get is boxes(instead of letters)and numbers. i tried to do some research but now i'm in an even worse state than before. Please help me start!!!
is there a CAT tool that is easy to install and use? Where do i type my translations? How do i import and translate pictures? Do i use Word at all? I have no clue where am i supposed to type my translation and all this info about technical issues is just soooo difficult. Why? Am i so stupid?
Can please someone take me step by step?
Collapse

Katalin Horváth McClure
Katalin Horváth McClure  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:31
Member (2002)
English to Hungarian
+ ...
You just need to start typing Jul 16, 2018

Forget about CAT tools for now. You seem to have many steps to master before that. Open up a new Word document and start typing your translation. Alternatively, if your source file is a Word file, you can just type over the original text. Keep a copy of the original, so you could compare and correct when you go over it to double- and triple check your translation.

GalileoTrans