Ethics: PMs moonlighting as translators
投稿者: mer-83 (X)
mer-83 (X)
mer-83 (X)
イタリア語 から 英語
Feb 8, 2008

Hello,

I have a question about the ethical issues that might surround a Project Manager freelancing as a translator on the side.

I am a recent college graduate in a foreign language, now considering career options. I have done a few freelance translation projects (working with agencies, mostly on the recommendation of friends already established in the biz), but I have not yet developed that business to the point where it would generate sufficient income to be a full-ti
... See more
Hello,

I have a question about the ethical issues that might surround a Project Manager freelancing as a translator on the side.

I am a recent college graduate in a foreign language, now considering career options. I have done a few freelance translation projects (working with agencies, mostly on the recommendation of friends already established in the biz), but I have not yet developed that business to the point where it would generate sufficient income to be a full-time job.

I've also been looking for full-time employment opportunities, and one prospect that looks promising is a position as a project manager with a translation agency in the US. I have been talking and interviewing with the recruiter who is working to fill the position, and it looks likely that I will be going in for an interview with the agency soon.

My question is, if I got the job as a PM, managing projects from English into other languages, would it be an ethical problem for me to continue to seek out and accept translation projects on a freelance basis -- separately, outside of work time, using no resources provided by the agency I worked for as a PM?