Number of words translated per day
论题张贴者: Raquel Bragança
Raquel Bragança
Raquel Bragança
Local time: 16:24
English英语译成Portuguese葡萄牙语
+ ...
Jul 15, 2009

Hi, I'm interested to know how many words you translate per day. I was offered a major TV subtitling project 2 years ago, translating and subtitling 250 episodes of a 45 min TV show per year. That's +22 episodes per month, excluding 4 weeks vacation. I do have a full time job as a teacher, but being childless I decided to take the challenge. Two years have gone by and I feel I live to work, but the extra income is way to difficult to turn down. I just wanted to now whether I'm a slow translator ... See more
Hi, I'm interested to know how many words you translate per day. I was offered a major TV subtitling project 2 years ago, translating and subtitling 250 episodes of a 45 min TV show per year. That's +22 episodes per month, excluding 4 weeks vacation. I do have a full time job as a teacher, but being childless I decided to take the challenge. Two years have gone by and I feel I live to work, but the extra income is way to difficult to turn down. I just wanted to now whether I'm a slow translator or not. Each 45 min show has around 6500 words.

I'd be happy if you could share your views.
Collapse

Alex Lago
Alex Lago  Identity Verified
西班牙
Local time: 10:24
English英语译成Spanish西班牙语
+ ...
Congrats Jul 15, 2009

First of all congratutaltions on having landed this job, it sounds very interesting both professionally and I would imagine financially, even at a low rate, say $0.07 per word that works out at $113,750 a year.

My data may not be very useful as I don't have any experience with translating audio and I am not sure if it is normally paid by word, I think they nornally pay per minute, but having said that if you are paid per word that should also be fine.

Personally I can t
... See more