Charlotte Farrell
Charlotte Farrell  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 20:39
Member (2013)
German to English
+ ...
May 22, 2013

Hi all. I couldn't find any similar topics that were posted in the last decade (although please redirect me if you know of one) and was hoping for more up to date advice.

I am new to freelance translation and am still trying to work out the ins and outs. I have a couple of clients in the UK, who pay in pounds and are no problem, but also two based in Germany paying in Euros. I recently received a payment from one of the German companies and found that I had lost a chunk due to an u
... See more
Hi all. I couldn't find any similar topics that were posted in the last decade (although please redirect me if you know of one) and was hoping for more up to date advice.

I am new to freelance translation and am still trying to work out the ins and outs. I have a couple of clients in the UK, who pay in pounds and are no problem, but also two based in Germany paying in Euros. I recently received a payment from one of the German companies and found that I had lost a chunk due to an unfavourable exchange rate. As a lot of my work comes from Germany this would represent considerable losses over the year.

My boyfriend is also about to spend a year in a country in the single currency other than Germany. It would be ideal to be able to take money out of a Euro account while visiting him there and not be affected by an unfavourable conversion into pounds (from payments from Germany) and then an unfavourable conversion back into euros when withdrawing.

I was wondering if any of you have a Euro bank account in the UK and, if so, whether you'd recommend it. I also do still have a German bank account for which I have a debit card (EC Karte), but don't know what the situation would be with tax if I were to use it in the UK/abroad.
Collapse

XXXphxxx (X)
XXXphxxx (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Portuguese to English
+ ...