radruz
radruz  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 20:27
English to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 30, 2008

Hi,

I hope somebody will be able to help me. I am new to Wordfast and I am trying to get used to the TM's. Until now I have been translating texts from English into Spanish and everything worked fine. I have just realised that every time I open I new document for translation I get some files into the folder where I have place the document (I have a folder for every new document) :

-lockfile.txt (which is empty)
- document.doc.txml (which is the same document I ha
... See more
Hi,

I hope somebody will be able to help me. I am new to Wordfast and I am trying to get used to the TM's. Until now I have been translating texts from English into Spanish and everything worked fine. I have just realised that every time I open I new document for translation I get some files into the folder where I have place the document (I have a folder for every new document) :

-lockfile.txt (which is empty)
- document.doc.txml (which is the same document I have just translated with this new ending)
-TMENES.jtx & TMENES.txt (which is the TM - I moved these two files into C:\Programme\Wordfast\TMs

My problem now is that I when I want to translate from German into Spanish, the new TM I created with the corresponding language pair is not accepted by Wordfast I do not know why. Can any body tell me what could I de doing wrong?

I would also like to know if there is any way of avoiding the creation of all these files and instead simply programming the TM so that every new translation gets updated into a TM for a give language pair.

Does the TM recognise terms in any give direction EN>ES/ES>EN or just in the sequence source/target. In the last case, do I need to create a new TM for the same pair in another direction?

Please if you find my questions to “basic” I would appreciate if someone could address me to reliable source information dealing with TM’s for Wordfast.