Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4 5 6] >
Keep Getting Ghosted By Agencies After I Submit My Test. Should I Keep Trying to Be a Translator?
Thread poster: David McAlpine
David McAlpine
David McAlpine  Identity Verified
Dominica
Local time: 15:14
Mandarin Chinese to English
Sep 15, 2022

Hey guys thanks for taking the time to read this. I'm a new translator -as in I haven't had a paid gig yet- and I'm kind of struggling with my confidence as I have been getting ghosted a bunch; let me explain. I've been trying to be a translator for about 5 months now and I've been building my portfolio by translating articles, and through Proz I've been getting contacted by agencies. They will be very receptive at first, responding very quickly, then the moment I submit the test they send me th... See more
Hey guys thanks for taking the time to read this. I'm a new translator -as in I haven't had a paid gig yet- and I'm kind of struggling with my confidence as I have been getting ghosted a bunch; let me explain. I've been trying to be a translator for about 5 months now and I've been building my portfolio by translating articles, and through Proz I've been getting contacted by agencies. They will be very receptive at first, responding very quickly, then the moment I submit the test they send me they immediately stop responding. They don't say I failed, they just stop responding. This has happened the past 3 times in a row and I've taken it to heart as I'm not quite sure what to expect as I am newbie. I'm also still largely unaware of the industry standards, causing me to second guess all my actions down to weather the emails I write sounding professional enough.