Academic advices on selecting a Grad School for interpretation education?
Tópico cartaz: Bair
Bair
Bair
Local time: 16:46
chinês para inglês
Jan 7, 2010

Hello everyone, (hope this doesn't look silly...)

I am currently an undergrad student. I want to become eventually a simultaneous interpreter.

I did some research on MA in Translation and Interpretation and discovered some graduate schools that offered this degree, which includes the Monterey Institution of International Studies, University of Arkansas, Kent State, Massachusetts Amherst, etc., but still have no idea which one to go to, or should I get a degree in othe
... See more
Hello everyone, (hope this doesn't look silly...)

I am currently an undergrad student. I want to become eventually a simultaneous interpreter.

I did some research on MA in Translation and Interpretation and discovered some graduate schools that offered this degree, which includes the Monterey Institution of International Studies, University of Arkansas, Kent State, Massachusetts Amherst, etc., but still have no idea which one to go to, or should I get a degree in other fields like Economics or such? Could I get some advice here about which school to go to, please? (Not limited to the schools I listed above~ )

Thanks a lot and best regards,

Rui
Collapse

Javier Wasserzug
Javier Wasserzug  Identity Verified
Estados Unidos
Local time: 13:46
inglês para espanhol
+ ...
Monterrey Jan 8, 2010

I heard Monterrey, California, has a great reputation.

Geraldine Oudin
Geraldine Oudin  Identity Verified
Reino Unido
japonês para francês
+ ...
It depends Jan 8, 2010

It depends on your working languages and on the market you are interested in.

In my opinion, the best schools are probably in Europe: ISIT, ETI, ISIT, Westminster and eventually Leeds. ISIT is great and almost for free but I don't think you can't get in without French in your combinaison. In any case, studying in a country of your B language is probably a good idea.